Eleven new mayors take the oath of office in Brussels

Eleven new mayors take the oath of office in Brussels

The new mayors of 11 of the capital’s 19 communes took the oath of office on Monday before Brussels Prime Minister Rudi Vervoort in brief ceremonies at the seat of the region’s government. Of the 11 swearing-in ceremonies, that of Molenbeek Mayor Catherine Moureau (Socialist Party, PS) was particularly loaded with emotion for her and her team as she received the mayoral scarf previously worn by her father, Philippe Moureaux, mayor of the municipality until 2012.

The first mayor-elect to be sworn in, late Monday morning, was Ixelles’ Christos Doulkeridis of the Ecologist (Ecolo) party, who won an executive post in his commune for the first time. He was followed by Charles Picqué (Saint-Gilles - PS), Bernard Clerfayt (Schaerbeek – Democratic Federalist Independent party, DéFI) and Amed Laaouej (Koekelberg - PS).

In the afternoon it was the turn of the seven other incoming mayors: Emir Kir (Saint-Josse - PS), Hervé Doyen (Jette – Humanist Democratic Centre, cdH), Olivier Maingain (Woluwe-Saint-Lambert - DéFI), Boris Dilliès (Uccle – Reformist Movement, MR), Vincent De Wolf (Etterbeek, MR), Catherine Moureaux (Molenbeek - PS) and Stéphane Roberti (Forest - Ecolo).

The new mayor of Forest, Stéphane Roberti, is none other than the president of the commune’s outgoing CPAS (public welfare centre). After arduous negotiations over the formation of a new coalition, his party, Ecolo-Green – which ran neck and neck with its partner in the outgoing coalition, the PS - decided a few days ago to stay with the Socialists. Outgoing PS Mayor Marc-Jean Ghyssels will step aside to focus on the May 29 regional elections.

Prime Minister Vervoort offered each of the sworn-in mayors a 50cm x 70 cm frame with an original picture of his or her commune, done by an artist.

The Brussels Times

Latest News

Copyright © 2021 The Brussels Times. All Rights Reserved.