Share article:

    Women’s rugby: European Championship starts on Tuesday

    © Belga
    In European terms, the “Four Nations” tournament is just below the “Six Nations”.
    © Belga

    From Tuesday to Saturday, Belgium will host the “Four Nations” European Championships 15-aside women’s rugby tournament. The tournament will be played in both Waterloo and Brussels.

    The Belgian team is ranked 21st in the world, and is coached by Xavier Bossert and Renaud Labardant. Belgium will play against the Netherlands (which is 14th in the world rankings) in Tuesday’s semi-finals (at 8 p.m.) at the Pachy stadium in Waterloo. Prior to Belgium’s match, the other major clash, at 6 p.m, is the semi-final between Germany (20th in the world) against Spain (10th in the world).

    The losers of each match will play for third place on Friday at 7 p.m. in Waterloo. The final is scheduled to take place on Saturday at 1 p.m., at the “Petit Heysel” in Brussels. It will be the curtain-raiser for the matches of the Black Devils against Germany in the Rugby Europe International Championships.

    The “Four Nations” tournament is one European level below the “Six Nations”, which brings together, as for the men’s tournament, England (2nd in the world), France (3rd), Wales (7th), Ireland (8th), Italy (9th) and Scotland (with a global ranking of 12th). Belgium is ranked 13th amongst the European nations in women’s rugby.

    Lars Andersen
    The Brussels Times