Share article:

    Facebook link to know if your data was stolen

    © Belga
    © Belga

    Facebook activated the following link on Tuesday to enable Internet users to know whether their information was stolen by the British firm Cambridge Analytica. All Facebook users should receive a message in this regard. Those whose data was plundered by Cambridge Analytica will be informed with a message explaining that the “This is your digital life” application used by the British company to steal information is now banned from the site.

    Facebook will also explain how to delete apps that have access to its users’ personal information. The first messages were sent out on Monday and all users should have been contacted within a few days.

    Finally, the link will enable all users to check whether they have been in contact with the personality test that enabled Cambridge Analytica to poach the information of about 87 million persons.

    Maria Novak
    The Brussels Times