Eighteen EU Member States sign LGBTQI+ rights declaration

Eighteen EU Member States sign LGBTQI+ rights declaration
EU Council President Charles Michel.

Eighteen of the 27 EU Member States pledged on Friday to continue defending the rights of  lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ+) persons.

The commitment capped a high-level conference organised in Brussels by the Belgian Presidency of the Council of the European Union, which ends on 30 June 2024.

The meeting, held on the International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia, Transphobia and Intersexphobia, was attended by the European Commissioner for Equality, ministers and secretaries of State from EU Member States, members of the European Parliament, experts and civil society organisations.

Discussions focused on the progress and obstacles to the implementation of the EU's strategy on the equal rights of LGBTIQ people and the way forward for the next European Commission.

In a joint statement, the 18 Member States urged the next Commission, to be formed after the European elections, to further uphold the EU's equality principle and develop a new strategy to support LGBTIQ+ communities.

A report released this week by the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights highlighted an increase in harassment, intimidation, and physical violence against LGBTIQ+ individuals.

Nine member states, including Hungary, Italy, Bulgaria, and Romania, did not sign Friday's declaration.

Copyright © 2024 The Brussels Times. All Rights Reserved.