Russia includes Belgium in new list of 'unfriendly' countries

Russia includes Belgium in new list of 'unfriendly' countries
Russian President Vladimir Putin. Credit: Belga/Nicolas Maeterlinck

The Russian Government has approved a list of all "unfriendly countries" that imposed or joined the sanctions against Russia after its invasion of Ukraine, reports the Russian news agency TASS.

On Monday, the government of the Russian Federation approved a list of foreign states and territories that "commit unfriendly actions against Russia, its companies, and citizens." Belgium, along with the rest of the EU, is on the list.

Aside from the bloc, other countries on the list are: the United States and Canada, the UK (including Jersey, Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, Gibraltar), Ukraine, Montenegro, Switzerland, Albania, Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, North Macedonia, and also Japan, South Korea, Australia, Micronesia, New Zealand, Singapore, and Taiwan.

This decree will allow the Russian state, companies and citizens to pay their debts to these countries in rubles, the Russian currency, which has been devalued heavily since the war started.

The new temporary procedure applies to payments of more than 10 million rubles (€66,339, according to current rates) per month, or a comparable amount in foreign currency.

The Brussels Times contacted the European Council for comment, but did not receive a response at the time of publishing.

Copyright © 2024 The Brussels Times. All Rights Reserved.