G20 members conclude climate agreement without the US

G20 members conclude climate agreement without the US
Credit: Belga

The G20 member states concluded a climate agreement without the US in Osaka (Japan) on Saturday.  

“The climate bill has been adopted,” President Emmanuel Macron’s entourage announced just before the G20 closing ceremony. 

The new agreement was concluded on Saturday morning, after lengthy negotiations. The French President said they were made more difficult by the United States’ attempt to block an agreement similar to the one signed in Hamburg in 2017 and Buenos Aires in 2018. 

The 19+1 format agreement shows that the 19 countries (including China, France and Germany) are still committed to the global warming agreement signed in Paris in 2015. The United States pulled out in 2017. 

Over the last few days, some diplomats had hinted that a number of large emerging countries may pull out and adopt a similar position to the US. But Macron said the 19 countries “all reaffirmed their support for the Paris agreement.” 

All 20 countries signed communal agreements regarding trade, which was the other main topic at the summit. 

The Brussels Times

Latest News

Copyright © 2021 The Brussels Times. All Rights Reserved.