Cycling World Championships: Belgium just misses time trial top spot
Share article:
Share article:

Cycling World Championships: Belgium just misses time trial top spot

Elite Men's ITT podium, L-R: van Aert (Bel), Ganna (Ita), Evenepoel (Bel). Credit: Belga

The week-long schedule of road cycling World Championships started with the time trial events that saw competitors race against the clock from Knokke Heist to Bruges. In the elite men’s event on Sunday, two Belgian favourites were pipped to the top spot by Italy’s Filippo Ganna.

Elite men’s individual time trial

The 43.3 km course was fast and flat and the eventual winning time was a record-breaking 54.37 kph – a speed that would also have broken many speed limits along the course had the roads not been closed to traffic for the race.

Notably, the weekend marked the first time that spectators had been permitted to attend races since February 2020. With cycling being such a popular sport, huge crowds gathered along the course – particularly at the start and finish lines that made for an electric atmosphere.

The drama was heightened as Belgian Remco Evenepoel delighted home crowds by setting a searing time early on that subsequent riders were unable to beat. In fact, Evenepoel occupied the hot seat all the time until the penultimate rider – his compatriot Wout van Aert – bettered his time by almost 38 seconds.

However, as is customary, the previous year’s champion Filippo Ganna was last to start, setting off 90 seconds behind van Aert. Belgian fans held their breath as the reigning World Champion powered along the course. In the end, Ganna crossed the line just 5.37 seconds up on van Aert – heartbreak for Belgium who had to settle for second and third place.

Credit: Belga

Elite women’s individual time trial

The 30.3 km course was tackled by the world’s fastest women on Monday and from the outset was a battle between two Dutch favourites: Ellen Van Dijk and Annamiek Van Vleuten.

The former has an illustrious history at World Championship events being a three-time winner in the road event and having won the individual time trial event in 2013. Certainly, the longevity of Van Dijk’s career is impressive and this year she set a phenomenal time of 36:05 minutes.

Despite the best efforts of all subsequent riders – notably Switzerland’s Marlen Reusser who looked threatening but completed the course 10 seconds off the top time – Van Dijk’s time stood all the way to the final competitor Van Vleuten, who had won the event in 2018 and 2019.

Yet although Van Vleuten had better odds going into the race, she was unable to beat an ecstatic Van Dijk and had to settle for third place.

Other results

Men Under 23 Individual Time Trial: 1. Johan Price-Pejtersen (Denmark) 2. Luke Plapp (Australia) 3. Florian Vermeersch (Belgium)

Women Junior Individual Time Trial: 1. Alena Ivanchenko (Russia) 2. Zoe Backstedt (Great Britain) 3. Antonia Niedermaier (Germany)

Men Junior Individual Time Trial: 1. Gustav Wang (Denmark) 2. Joshua Tarling (Great Britain) 3. Alec Segaert (Belgium)

Today (Wednesday 22 September) will be the team time trial mixed relay before a rest day on Thursday and then the road race events starting on Friday and culminating in the Elite Men’s event on Sunday.

Latest news

Increase in number of people ‘asking King for mercy’ through royal pardons
More and more people living in Belgium have been seeking royal pardons, mainly for fines, largely as a result of it now being possible to send in ...
England now accepting cheaper Covid tests from fully vaccinated travellers
Fully vaccinated travellers who enter England from non-red countries will only be required to book a lateral flow test to take following their ...
Re-introducing face masks indoors considered as Covid-19 situation worsens
Belgium's council of ministers will hold an emergency meeting on Monday to discuss the worsening epidemiological situation, and reintroducing face ...
Federal museums to receive €2.9 million booster shot
Federal museums will receive an additional €2.9 million in support from the government for the fiscal year 2021, of which the first payouts will be ...
European Parliament emphasises healthy food and animal welfare in EU Farm to Fork Strategy
The European Parliament adopted this week a resolution on the EU Farm to Fork Strategy calling for a fair, healthy and environmentally-friendly food ...
Threats of strike action could affect Brussels’ STIB network from Monday
Brussels public transport operator STIB's trams, buses and metros could be affected from Monday 25 October onwards as the union representing the ...
Number of international adoptions in Belgium continues to drop
The number of regulated international adoptions authorised by Belgium further dropped in 2020, continuing an ongoing decreasing trend. Last ...
Disaster drill with emergency services held at Brussels Airport
Around 300 people took part in a disaster drill held was organised on Saturday by Brussels Airport in collaboration with external emergency services ...
Austria presents bill to legalise euthanasia
Austria’s government on Saturday presented its proposals for legalising assisted suicide, in response to a Constitutional Court ruling that the ...
Brussels’ Museum Night Fever draws in some 12,000 visitors
Some 12,000 participants took part in the 14th edition of Museum Night Fever in Brussels, with the 29 participating museums filled to the maximum ...
Relaunch of 10,000 steps campaign to get Flemish people moving
The Flemish government is breathing new life into its 10,000 steps campaign to get people in the region moving after a recent survey found that a ...
‘No scientific basis’ for giving everyone third dose, vaccine expert says
The head of Belgium's Vaccination Taskforce has argued that there is not enough scientific evidence to support the Flemish government's decision to ...