Share article:
Share article:

Germany adds Belgium to list of red zones

Credit: Pixabay

The German government on Wednesday issued a travel warning for the whole of Belgium due to the increasing number of coronavirus infections, DPA reports based on advice from the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Initially, the country only considered Brussels as a risk zone. Germany has warned its population against travelling to areas where the number of new infections within 7 days exceeds the limit of 50 cases per 100,000 inhabitants. This is not a travel ban, but a warning.

Related News


To date, 15 of the 27 countries of the European Union have been placed in the risk area category on the German Institute of Health’s list.

Belgium, Spain, the Czech Republic and the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are considered red zones.

The Brussels Times