Sixteen Belgian drivers to compete in '24 Hours of Spa' race

Sixteen Belgian drivers to compete in '24 Hours of Spa' race
Credit: Belga.

This year's edition of the 24 Hours of Spa racing event will take place this week, with over 16 Belgian drivers expected to compete.

From Thursday 28 July to Sunday 31 July, teams comprised of multiple drivers from all around the world will descend on Wallonia to compete in the 24 Hours of Spa.

The endurance racing event held at the Spa-Francorchamps racing circuit, which also hosts a Formula 1 Grand Prix.

In total, 16 Belgian drivers will compete in four of the competition's five events, more than doubling 2021's number.

Related News

In the most importance race of the event, two former champions will be competing Maxime Martin, who won with BMW in 2016, will race for Aston Martin, and Laurens Vanthoor, who won in 2014 and 2020, will be representing Porsche.

But they will both have to face Dries Vanthoor and Charles Weerts, who came within an inch of winning last year's event, having lost their lead in the race's final 10 minutes.

Further down the card, Sarah Bovy will race for Ferrari in the event's first all-female team since 1997. She will be competing against her fellow compatriots Nigel Bailly and Alessio Picariello, who will be making their 24 Hours debuts.

Copyright © 2024 The Brussels Times. All Rights Reserved.