Belgian football: Tedesco announces first Red Devils squad

Belgian football: Tedesco announces first Red Devils squad
Credit: Belga / Bruno Fahy

Belgium's 24-man squad for the upcoming matches against Sweden and Germany was announced on Friday. This is the first roster of the Red Devils' new head coach Domenico Tedesco, who was appointed in February.

With Belgium looking to move on from its golden generation after a disappointing showing at last year's World Cup, Tedesco had to contend with the retirement of key players such as Eden Hazard and Toby Alderweireld as well as bringing in some youthful players.

Tedesco made brave choices in not selecting veterans such as Axel Witsel and Dries Mertens. Only added one new face to the team with a first selection for 19-year-old midfielder Romeo Lavia.

The squad will begin preparations for fixtures at the end of March when they will face Sweden in the EURO 2024 qualifiers and Germany in a friendly.

The full Belgian squad

Goalkeepers: Koen Casteels, Thibaut Courtois, Thomas Kaminski, Matz Sels.

Defenders: Sebastiaan Bornauw, Timothy Castagne, Zeno Debast, Wout Faes, Thomas Meunier, Arthur Theate, Jan Vertonghen.

Midfielders: Yannick Carrasco, Kevin De Bruyne, Romeo Lavia, Orel Mangala, Amadou Onana, Dennis Praet, Alexis Saelemaekers.

Attackers: Charles De Ketelaere, Jeremy Doku, Romelu Lukaku, Dodi Lukabekio, Lois Openda, Leandro Trossard.

Copyright © 2024 The Brussels Times. All Rights Reserved.