WhatsApp users will soon be able to leave a group conversation without notifying each group member; only the administrators will receive a notification, announced CEO of Meta/Facebook Mark Zuckerberg.
Currently, all members of a WhatsApp group receive a notification when someone leaves the chat, but this month, this will change for users worldwide.
"When you want to make the subtle exit, starting this month, you can leave groups silently. From now on, only admins will be notified when you leave a group," the company clarified on Twitter.
When you want to make the subtle exit, starting this month, you can leave groups silently 🤫 From now on, only admins will be notified when you leave a group.— WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) August 9, 2022
Whatsap owners Meta/Facebook also announced several other privacy measures. In the future, users will be able to choose who can see when they are online – making it possible to view messages on WhatsApp without others seeing that you opened the app.
The company is also working on a screenshot blocker for messages sent for viewing only once.
Currently, the limitation can be circumvented quite easily by simply taking a screenshot. An extra layer of protection with screenshot blocking is now being tested, but it is not clear when that feature will be rolled out to all users.