European Union members on Monday agreed to resume trade talks with the United States despite opposition from France, AFP indicated, quoting several European sources.
France, Hungary, the Netherlands and Sweden are to conduct a first assessment of the controversial herbicide glyphosate ahead of expected applications for the renewal of its EU license.
The general public will be able to explore the inside of the various European institutions on Saturday 4 May, as part of the 27th ‘EU Open Day’.
The agriculture committee of the European Parliament voted in the beginning of April on reforms of EU’s common agricultural policy (CAP) in opposition to the environment committee that wanted to make EU farm subsidies conditional on minimal animal welfare standards.
Social security regimes in the different EU member states will not be coordinated this term, a spokesman told the Belga agency on Friday.
The European leaders invited by Prime Minister Charles Michel to a Brexit coordination meeting on Wednesday decided to cooperate more intensely in the exchange of information, one of Michel’s spokespersons said after the meeting.
With 95 percent of the votes counted in the parliamentary elections in Israel, the country woke up this morning to the news that the incumbent Prime Minister Benyamin Netanyahu will likely remain in power with his current coalition partners.
British passports that no longer say “European Union” began to be distributed on the 30th of March.
Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker and Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development Neven Mimica will be in Kigali, the capital of Rwanda, this weekend for Kwibuka 25, the commemoration of the 25 years since the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda.
The European Commission has informed BMW, Daimler and VW of its preliminary view that they participated in a collusive scheme from 2006 to 2014, in breach of EU competition rules, to limit the development and roll-out of emission cleaning technology for new diesel and petrol passenger cars sold in Europe.