Non-essential travel to Lithuania prohibited for Belgian residents

Non-essential travel to Lithuania prohibited for Belgian residents
Vilnius, Lithuania. Credit: Pixabay.

It is no longer possible for Belgians to travel to Lithuania, as Belgium's Foreign Ministry’s latest update of travel recommendations on Monday shows.

Lithuania decided that people coming from Belgium are not allowed to enter the country, and Lithuanians returning from Belgium face mandatory isolation, according to the Lithuanian Ministry of Health, as Belgium has seen an incidence of 35.8 cases per 100 000 inhabitants in the last 14 days, which is significantly more than Lithuania's incidence, which is at 5.7.

Non-essential travel for Belgians is also not possible or not authorised to the Bulgarian regions of Severoiztochen (which includes the port city of Varna) and Yugozapaden (including the country’s capital, Sofia), Navarra, Aragon, Barcelona and Lleida in Spain, the Romanian regions of Central, South-East, South-Muntenia and South-West Oltenia, the French department of Mayenne, Leicester in the UK and the Lake Geneva Region in Switzerland.

Travel is allowed under certain conditions to Cyprus (mandatory testing), Denmark (mandatory testing for Greenland and the Faroe Islands) and Iceland (mandatory testing or quarantine), and quarantine is required when travelling to Ireland, Estonia, Latvia, the Netherlands, Norway or Slovenia.

Related News

Foreign Affairs asks for increased vigilance in Upper Austria and Vienna, Bulgaria’s regions of Severen tsentralen, Yugoiztochen and Yuzhen tsentralen, and in Croatia’s Adriatic region, eastern region and Zagreb.

Girona, Tarragona, Basque Country, La Rioja, Extremadura, Soria and Guadalajara, Castellón, Valencia, Murcia, Almeria in Spain also require increased vigilance, as do Ile de France (except Seine-et-Marne), Pays de la Loire, Département du Nord, Haut-Rhin, Haute-Savoie, Meurthe-et-Moselle and the Vosges in France.

Luxembourg, Malta, several regions in the Netherlands (Zuid-Holland, Zeeland, Noord-Holland), Poland (Slaskie and Malopolski), Portugal (Algarve, Lisbon Metropolitan Region), the rest of Romania, Eastern Slovenia, the Czech Republic (Prague, Central Bohemia, Jihovýchod and Moravia-Silesia), Sweden and the United Kingdom (East Midlands, North East & Yorkshire, North West and Northern Ireland, Wales) also require increased vigilance.

Besides regions that were assigned orange or red colours, Austria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Poland, Slovakia, Switzerland, Spain, Portugal and the UK are considered green zones.

Travellers returning to Belgium will face mandatory quarantine and testing if they come from the red zones in Bulgaria, France, Romania, Spain, Switzerland and the UK, as will anyone coming from outside the EU or Schengen. Travellers coming back from orange zones are recommended to quarantine and take a test.

Belgium’s full list of travel recommendations can be consulted on the website of Belgium’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Jason Spinks

The Brussels Times

Update: This story has been updated to provide further information on the reason Belgian travellers will not be able to travel to Lithuania at this time.

Copyright © 2024 The Brussels Times. All Rights Reserved.