Share article:
Share article:

Belgium further restricts travel to several EU regions

Credit: Belga/Brussels Airlines

Belgium has further restricted travel to several countries and zones in Europe in the latest update of the Foreign Affairs’ Department website of Friday.

As the National Crisis Centre announced on Friday morning, the colour codes of “a number of” countries and regions in Europe have been adapted, further restricting travel for Belgians.

Red zones

From now on, travelling to Malta, several regions in Spain and almost the entire country of Romania, as well as several other regions, is no longer allowed as they have become “red travel zones.”

For Spain, travelling is no longer allowed to the autonomous regions of Aragon and Navarra, the provinces of Barcelona and Lleida ( autonomous region of Catalonia), the province of Biscay (autonomous region of the Basque Country), the province of Soria (autonomous region of Castilla y Leon).

Travelling to the regions Bucharest-Ilfov, the Centre, North-West, North-East, South-East, South-Muntenia and South-West Oltenia in Romania is also no longer allowed.

The North-East and South-West regions of Bulgaria, and Leicester in the United Kingdom are also red zones.

People returning to Belgium from one of these regions are required to be tested and quarantined.

Related News:


Orange zones

Apart from colouring several new regions red, several new countries and regions have also received an orange colour, meaning that non-essential travel is still allowed, but the authorities advise against it.

The current orange travel zones, meaning that getting tested and quarantining upon return is recommended, for Belgians are:


Bulgaria: North-West, North-Central, South-East and South-Central


Germany: Niederbayern, Hamburg, Düsseldorf and Arnsberg

France: Île de France, departement du Nord, departement Loiret, departementen Meurthe-et-Moselle and Moselle, departement Sarthe, Mayenne en Loire-Atlantique, departement Ille-et-Vilaine, departements Gard en Hérault, departement Haute-Garonne, departements Ain, Rhône, Loire and Haute-Savoie, departements Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Alpes-Maritimes, Var, Vaucluse and Bouches-du-Rhône


Croatia: provinces Osijek-Baranja, Split-Dalmatië, Zagreb, Brod-Posavina and Vukovar-Srijem



The Netherlands: provinces South-Holland, North-Holland, Zeeland, Utrecht, North-Brabant en Flevoland

Norway: Oslo and Viken province

Austria: Upper-Austria and Vienna

Poland: provinces Lesser Poland, Greater Poland, Silesia, Opole, Łódź, Subcarpathian, Masovia and Warsaw

Portugal: Lisbon metropolitan area

Romania: Western region

Slovakia: Western Slovakian region

Slovenia: Eastern Slovenian region

Spain: autonomous regions of Madrid, Cantabria and Valencia, provinces of Girona and Tarragona (autonomous region of Catalonia), provinces Álava and Gipuzkoa (autonomous region of Basque Country), autonomous region of La Rioja, provinces Burgos, Salamanca, Segovia and Valladolid (autonomous region of Castilla y Leon), provinces Ciudad Real, Guadalajara and Toledo (autonomous region Castilla-La Mancha), autonomous region Murcia, provinces Almeria, Córdoba and Málaga (autonomous region of Andalusia), Balearic Islands and Melilla

Czech Republic: Central Bohemian Region, Moravian-Silesian Region, region of Prague, South-West and South-East regions

United Kingdom: Midlands, North East, North West and North Eastern Scotland


Switzerland: cantons of Geneva, Vaud, Basel City, Zürich, Glarus, Luzern, Schwyz, Zug and Schaffhausen

All other regions within the EU are green zones, meaning Belgium has no travel restrictions in place for them. However, travelling is still a risk, and the situation in Europe can change rapidly, according to the Crisis Centre.

“Therefore, always check the situation at your destination. Choose green zones and stick to the basic rules at all times, also when you are abroad,” said virologist and interfederal Covid-19 spokesperson Steven Van Gucht.

Quarantine when back in Belgium is particularly important if you have carried out a high-risk activity in an orange zone, such as visiting relatives, or have participated in nightlife.

Maïthé Chini
The Brussels Times

Latest news

More women take police selection tests in Belgium
The selection tests to become a police inspector have more and more female participants, according to figures released by Interior Affairs Minister ...
‘Absurd’: all Brussels schools should have the same Covid rules
Several city councillors for education in Brussels are calling to abolish the "absurd" differences in coronavirus measures for Dutch-speaking and ...
Massive renovations for iconic venue in the heart of Brussels
Brussels concert hall Ancienne Belgique has announced plans to renovate the AB Café and the AB Salon and is looking for a contractor fit for the job. ...
Display of child’s room in Brussels raises awareness of foster families
An exhibit that features a fictitious child’s bedroom has been on display since Tuesday at the Place d'Armes in Namur, with the support of the ...
Test results show pupils have fallen behind in Flemish schools
Learning delays have been reported in almost all subject areas in Flanders since the start of the pandemic, a trend that continued in 2021, a ...
Belgium considers relaxing testing rules for UK travellers
At the next Consultative Committee meeting, Belgium will look into relaxing the testing and entry policy for travellers coming from the United ...
Jette libraries start giving plants away with books
Visitors to libraries in the Brussels municipality of Jette will soon be able to pick up a free plant along with a book, thanks to the new Plantotek ...
‘Do what you want, but do it as safely as possible,’ experts warn
As the daily number of new coronavirus infections exceeds 3,000 for the first time since May, infectious disease expert Erika Vlieghe and ...
‘We’re running dry’: Brussels teacher shortage reaches critical levels
The teacher shortage in Brussels is affecting schools across language borders, according to Brussels’ Minister for Multilingualism and Dutch ...
New coronavirus infections above 3,000 for first time since May
The number of people testing positive for coronavirus has skyrocketed to the highest rate since the start of May 2021. Between 9 and 15 October, ...
Belgium in Brief: Getting To The Airport
When I saw the news of plans for a tram line and cycle path to connect Brussels' outskirts to the airport, my first reaction was sheer joy.  Let ...
EU should invest €5 trillion in climate plan, says State Secretary for Economic Recovery
The European Union must invest €5 trillion in its climate plan over the next decade to "retain its credibility as a political project," according ...